

AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION

Executive Director: Joe Bertagna — 7 Concord Street — Gloucester, MA 01930 — (781) 245-4177

For immediate release:

Thursday, March 14, 2013

MATT LOEN of WISCONSIN-EAU CLAIRE IS NAMED flexxCOACH/AHCA MEN'S DIVISION III COACH of the YEAR Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on May 4 in Naples, FL

LAKE PLACID, NY — University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire head coach Matt Loen has done what no other coach has done in school history — guided his team to the NCAA Division III Men's Championship semifinals. In fact, his 2013 team is the first in school history to win an NCAA playoff game and win a Northern Collegiate Hockey Association regular-season championship.

And for his efforts, Loen has been named the winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given to the NCAA Division III Men's Coach of the Year.

This year's team was selected to the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship for just the second time in program history and the first time since 1989. Coming into this season, the Blugolds had one national title to their name, an NAIA title in 1984, but had never won a conference championship.

In just six years as the Blugolds' head coach, Loen has compiled an 82-72-12 record, just six wins short of the most wins by any coach in school history. Ian Perrin, who coached the Blugolds from 1990 to 1999, had an 88-139-14 record, a .394 winning percentage. Loen, on the other hand, has a winning percentage of .530, the best in school history.



The Blugolds currently hold a 22-5-2 record, the most win in school history. Previously, the most wins were 18 in 1990 as the Blugolds finished the year 18-13-3. Five losses this season is also a new low for the team. This is the third consecutive winning season for the team, the longest streak in school history, and over the last four years the team has compiled a 58-43-10 record, the most wins in a four year period ever.

Loen was named the NCHA Coach of the Year this season, his second coach of the year selection in the past three years (also won in 2011). He is the only person in the history of the league to win Coach of the Year and Player of the Year honors as he was also the conference's Player of the Year in 1995.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runners-up for this year's Edward Jeremiah Award are Gary Heenan of Utica College and Ed Gosek of Oswego State (the 2007 recipient).

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Saturday, May 4. All AHCA Coach of the Year awards are selected by the head coaches in each division and are sponsored by flexxCOACH, the leader in delivering on-line coaching education for sports and the development of software products designed to assist coaches in creating drills, planning practices and designing fitness programs for athlete development.

CONTACT: Joe Bertagna (781-245-4177) PICK-UP: Past Winners List



Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award — College Division Coach of the Year —

1970	Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971	Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972	Jack Canniff, MA-Amherst
1973	Jim Cross, Vermont
1974	Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975	Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976	Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977	Bill Riley, Jr., UMass-Lowell
1978	Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979	Don Brose, Mankato State
1980	Steve Stirling, Babson
1981	Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh
1982	Steve Stirling, Babson
	_
1983	Mike Gibbons, Bemidji
1004	Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984	Bob Peters, Bemidji
1985	Rob Riley, Babson
1986	Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987	Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988	Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989	Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990	Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991	Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992	Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993	Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1994	Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995	Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996	Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1997	Mike McShane, Norwich
1998	Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999	Mike McShane, Norwich
2000	Mike McShane, Norwich
2001	Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002	Dan Stauber, Wisconsin-Superior
2003	George Roll, Oswego
2004	Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005	Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006	Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007	Ed Gosek, Oswego
2008	Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2009	Dominick Dawes, Neumann
2010	Mike McShane, Norwich
2011	Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2012	Jack Arena, Amherst College
2013	Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
	, - · · - · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·



