

## **AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION**

Executive Director: Joe Bertagna — 7 Concord Street — Gloucester, MA 01930 — (781) 245-4177

For immediate release:

Thursday, March 24, 2016

## UMASS-BOSTON'S BELISLE, GENESEO'S SCHULTZ SHARE STX/AHCA MEN'S DIVISION III COACH of the YEAR HONORS

Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on April 27 in Naples, FL

LAKE PLACID, NY —Two coaches who have brought their teams to the NCAA Men's Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championships — Peter Belisle of UMass-Boston and Chris Schultz of SUNY Geneseo — have been named co-winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given to the STX/AHCA Division III Men's Coach of the Year. It is the second such honor for Schultz who also captured this award in 2014.

Belisle led the Beacons to their most successful season in program history, poised at 23-4-3 heading into Friday night's semifinal against St. Norbert College (7:30 p.m.). UMB reached the semifinals by virtue of 4-0 and 2-0 wins over Trinity and Hobart, respectively. Those results followed a thrilling 3-2 OT victory over Babson College on March 5 in the championship game of the New England Hockey Conference tournament.

Geneseo, SUNYAC champion by way of a 7-1 win over Plattsburgh in that conference final, reached Lake Placid with a 7-1 win over Salve Regina and a 2-1 win over Williams College. Schultz and his Knights bring a 20-4-6 record into Friday's early game (4:00 p.m.) against UW-Stevens point.

Both men are in their 10th seasons as head coaches, Belisle's record standing at 145-104-20, while Schultz is 152-99-17 in the same time period. Belisle, a 1995 graduate of the University of Connecticut, was given his start in coaching by his father, Bill Belisle, the legendary coach at Mount St. Charles in Rhode Island. Schultz, a two-year captain at Geneseo, graduated in 1997 and added a Masters degree in 2002.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. Belisle was assisted this year by Tom Murphy and Sean Walsh while Schultz' assistants were Kris Heeres, Len Perno and Mitch Stephens.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Wednesday, April 27.

STX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.









## Past Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award — College Division Coach of the Year —



1970	Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971	Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972	Jack Canniff, MA-Amherst
1973	Jim Cross, Vermont
1974	Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975	Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976	Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977	Bill Riley, Jr., UMass-Lowell
1978	Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979	Don Brose, Mankato State
1980	Steve Stirling, Babson
1981	Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh
1982	Steve Stirling, Babson
1983	Mike Gibbons, Bemidji
1700	Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984	Bob Peters, Bemidji
1985	Rob Riley, Babson
1986	Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987	Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988	Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989	Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990	•
	Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991	Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992	Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993	Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1994	Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995	Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996	Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1997	Mike McShane, Norwich
1998	Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999	Mike McShane, Norwich
2000	Mike McShane, Norwich
2001	Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002	Dan Stauber, Wisconsin-Superior
2003	George Roll, Oswego
2004	Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005	Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006	Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007	Ed Gosek, Oswego
2008	Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2009	Dominick Dawes, Neumann
2010	Mike McShane, Norwich
2011	Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2012	Jack Arena, Amherst College
2013	Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
2014	Chris Schultz, Geneseo State
2015	Jack Arena, Amherst College

